Friday Night Races

With the season winding down, I had another chance to head out to the Capital City Speedway to catch another night of racing. Conditions weren’t the most favorable as it is now getting dark early and the temperatures are getting chilly at night. When I wasn’t shooting, I was standing around with my hands in my pockets to keep them warm.

The lighting at the track isn’t the greatest for photo taking once the sun goes down. Even at 3200 ISO, I was only managing to get exposures of about 1/125 sec at f2.8 on a lit section of track. Despite this, I still caught some keepers. When all else fails, it’s a great opportunity to work on some panning.

With a couple of nights under my belt now, I’m looking forward to getting out earlier in the season next year to get some shooting in under daylight conditions.

Leave a Reply

